top of page
  • Tr1n1ty

Further adventures in the Knotverse!

Today we’re celebrating the release of The End, So Far, the seventh studio album by American heavy metal band Slipknot, by exploring what a fully-realised Slipknot-inspired Metaverse, or Knotworld, might look like.

Slipknot are no strangers to the Metaverse. Back in April of this year the band announced that they would be creating the aforementioned Knotverse in partnership with The Sandbox, a “virtual Metaverse where players can play, build, own, and monetize their virtual experiences”.

In the April announcement, and as posted by Ramon Gonzales, the Knotverse will be “a fully immersive space hosting Web3 experiences curated both by Slipknot and Knotfest.” Knotfest is a music festival created by the band in 2012. The second part of the Knotverse Roadmap, after the official Knotverse announcement and launch of ta brand new website, focuses on offering fans “more personal [Knotfest] experiences including meetups in major cities, festival after parties, rare merchandise and artist memorabilia, special Knotfest VIP access, and more.”

Part three of the roadmap comprises a series of non-fungible token (NFT) auction. Each NFT comprises unique digital art and a certificate of ownership. The first NFT auction, for a one-of-a-kind NFT featuring “Slipknot’s clown wearing his iconic red mask from the We Are Not Your Kind album era surrounded by gold monarch butterflies with clown insignia” ran from the 29th of April to the 6th of May. Subsequent auctions for the Knotfest Festival Collection, the Knotfest Generative Collection, and the Slipknot Collection will follow.

Part four of the roadmap in the Knotverse itself. Billed as a “one-of-a-kind meeting place for heavy music culture in the metaverse”, the Knotverse will feature “metaverse concerts, gaming experiences, fan experiences, unique collaborations, wearables and much much more. It will ultimately offer fans of the heavy culture utility through unique access to new music, IRL events, festival experiences, merchandise, gear, masks, and more.”

So, what might a Slipknot-inspired Metaworld look like? According to the April announcement the Knotverse “will serve as an extension of the Knotfest dark carnival theme – integrating more than two decades of Slipknot’s vast thematic tapestry and iconic imagery – authentically translated for Web3 in a space that is equal parts digital real estate and amusement park.”

Here at we’re imagining a sprawling, post-apocalyptic cross between Adventure Land, Iowa and a Barnum & Bailey-esque circus. This virtual world will borrow from themes from the band’s seven albums to date, and its surface include a number of zones where fans can socialise with like-minded “maggots”, interact with the band, explore areas inspired by the band’s music, compete in competitions, and buy exclusive band merchandise and NFTs. Areas might include a virtual replica of the suburbs of Des Moines, Iowa, where fans can relive the band’s earliest live shows, including lead singer Corey Taylor’s first show with Slipknot at the Safari Club. Competitions for real-world encounters with the band and unique band merchandise might include treasure hunts through the labyrinthian Metaworld or takes on role-playing game Werewolf: The Apocalypse, from which many of the lyrics for the band’s 1996 album Mate. Feed. Kill. Repeat. were based. The Sandbox is well-known for LAND, its virtual real estate, which comprises 62% of all available metaverse land. Who knows, perhaps fans, investors or team will be able to buy a slice of the Knotverse when it emerges!

The full album track listing for of The End, So Far is:

1. Adderall

2. The Dying Song (Time to Sing)

3. The Chapeltown Rag

4. Yen

5. Hivemind

6. Warranty

7. Medicine for the Dead

8. Acidic

9. Heirloom

10. H377

11. De Sade

12. Finale


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page